Easter. How it’s evolved for me.

Growing up in Catholic School in Brooklyn, Easter was all about ceremonial components.  From the start of Lent with Ash Wednesday and if you include the gluttonous extravaganza on the aptly named Fat Tuesday right through to Holy Week.  I love the traditions and the ceremonies.  When everyone hated the lengthy Palm Sunday Mass (Sunday before Easter) I always loved the pageantry of it all.  Now of course I know Easter is the day Jesus Christ rose from the dead but I would be lying if I didn’t say that the Easter Bunny is part of the Easter Holiday.  Being a person who admittedly adores candy particularly premiere chocolate shaped rabbits I don’t know when this holiday has evolved into another albeit smaller Christmas with the exchange of costs presents.

It appears we went from Easter baskets of candy and small trinkets to baskets of gifts minus the candy.  I’m assuming this evolved from the theme of not giving kids candy.  I am all for decreasing childhood obesity and making sure we treat our bodies like a temple however allowing a holiday to include sugary indulgence is not the end of the world.

I for one am not giving presents to my children.  I’ll save that for their birthdays.  If baskets with chocolate, jelly beans and a plush chick were good enough for me I’m keeping that tradition alive.

 

Leave a Reply

