Is me being a sugar addict justify the $500M IPO?

Per the WSJ article, King Digital Entertainment who is responsible for my sugar addiction a la “Candy Crush” filed today for an IPO up to $500M.  All my friends and I are sadly addicts.  I just can not get enough of the game.  I could not be more thankful that they have a limit of 5 free turns at a time or it would be sadly a complete time waster.

The real question, is King Digital Entertainment a one hit wonder?  I would think that a $500M IPO filing they definitely do not think they are.  Unfortunately per the WSJ article 78% of King’s total gross bookings is from Candy Crush with only 4% of their 128M daily users being paying customers.  I can raise my hand as one that has never paid to play but most (if not all) of my friends admitted to paying for helps to just get past that board giving them headaches for the last month.

I can not wait to see how this plays out but the best part will be what they have coming.  Hopefully a new game where I can move my obsession.

Leave a Reply

